A. Eligibility
Requirements for Instructor Licensure by Reciprocity
An instructor from any other state may be qualified for a
Mississippi instructor's license by satisfying the following requirements:
1. Must be at least twenty-one (21)
years of age.
2. Must be able to
read, write and speak English.
3.
Must possess a high school education or its equivalency.
4. Must possess a valid instructor's license.
5. Must have completed six (6)
semester hours in college courses approved by the Board.
6. Must have completed training equivalent to
Mississippi's training as provided in Miss. Code Ann. Section
73-7-15,
or have three (3) years or more of experience as a licensed instructor prior to
application.
7. Must have completed
a minimum of five (5) continuing education (CE) hours in Mississippi Board
laws, rules and regulations. The fee for five (5)-hour CE seminar shall be
$75.00. The dates and times for the CE seminar shall be posted on the Board's
website.
B. When College
Courses Requirement Not Completed at the Time of Application
An applicant for a Mississippi instructor's license by
reciprocity who has not completed the college courses requirement at the time
of application may apply for a one-time temporary teaching permit, which shall
be valid for six (6) months and shall be nonrenewable. See Rule
3.3. The request for the one-time
temporary teaching permit must be made on the application for instructor's
license by reciprocity. Such application must be accompanied by proof of
enrollment in college course(s), required permit fee of $25.00, two (2) recent
passport photographs of the applicant and other documentation as required for
application for a Mississippi instructor's license by reciprocity. Upon proof
of completion of college courses and payment of the required license fee, a
Mississippi instructor's license shall be issued.
C. The application packet, which must be
completed in its entirety, must be accompanied by the following:
1. Two (2) recent passport photographs of the
applicant.
2. Proof of eligibility
requirements as established in this Rule.
3. The required license fee. (Exception: If
the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at the time of
application, the license fee shall be paid at the time when proof of completion
of college courses has been submitted to the Board office.)
D. The application packet
may be accompanied by a one-time temporary teaching permit fee of
$25.00 if the applicant has not completed the college courses requirement at
the time of application and desires to apply for the one-time temporary
teaching permit. See Rule
3.3.