Utah Admin. Code R590-219-4 - Insurer's Obligation If Credit Information Is Used

Current through Bulletin 2021-24, December 15, 2021

(1) An insurer must comply with all notification requirements of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C. 1681 et seq. If any adverse action is taken, the insurance company must provide to the applicant or insured:
(a) the identity, telephone number, and address of any consumer-reporting agency from which a credit report was obtained;
(b) notification of the applicant's or insured's right to receive a free copy of their credit report from the consumer reporting agency for a period of 60 days from the date of application; and
(c) notification of the applicant's or insured's right to lodge a dispute with the consumer-reporting agency and have erroneous information corrected in accordance with the Fair Credit Reporting Act.
(2) After an adverse action is taken, if it is later determined that the initial information in the credit report was incorrect, the insurance company, at the request of the applicant or insured, shall underwrite or rate the policy again using the correct information. If the insurer determines that the insured has overpaid premium, the insurer shall refund to the insured the amount of overpayment calculated back to the shorter of either the last 12 months of coverage or the actual policy period.
(3) An insurer shall establish procedures that allow consumers or their insurance producers to request that a person's credit history or score be re-examined if a correction has been made to the consumer's credit report.
(4) An insurer shall refrain from penalizing consumers on new and renewal policies issued on or after the effective date of this rule based on identity theft; credit inquiries not initiated by the consumer; insurance-related inquiries; medical related collection accounts, if the information can be identified on a credit report; and multiple lender inquiries, if captured on a credit report as being from the home mortgage industry and made within a 30 day period, unless only one inquiry is considered.

Notes

Utah Admin. Code R590-219-4

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.