33 U.S. Code § 653 - Extension of jurisdiction of Mississippi River Commission

§ 653.
Extension of jurisdiction of Mississippi River Commission
The jurisdiction of the Mississippi River Commission (established by the Act of June 29, 1879[1] (33 U.S.C. 641)) is extended to include—
Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana; and
the area bounded by the East Atchafalaya Basin Protection Levee, the Mississippi River Levee, and Bayou Lafourche and extending from Morganza, Louisiana, to the Gulf of Mexico, insofar as such area is affected by the flood waters of the Mississippi River.
(Pub. L. 102–580, title III, § 301, Oct. 31, 1992, 106 Stat. 4838.)

[1]  See References in Text note below.
References in Text

Act of June 29, 1879 (33 U.S.C. 641), referred to in text, probably means the act of June 28, 1879, ch. 43, 21 Stat. 37, which enacted sections 641 to 644, 646, and 647 of this title.


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.