Quick search by citation:

42 U.S. Code § 2039 - Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards; composition; tenure; duties; compensation

There is established an Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards consisting of a maximum of fifteen members appointed by the Commission for terms of four years each. The Committee shall review safety studies and facility license applications referred to it and shall make reports thereon, shall advise the Commission with regard to the hazards of proposed or existing reactor facilities and the adequacy of proposed reactor safety standards, and shall perform such other duties as the Commission may request. One member shall be designated by the Committee as its Chairman. The members of the Committee shall receive a per diem compensation for each day spent in meetings or conferences, or other work of the Committee, and all members shall receive their necessary traveling or other expenses while engaged in the work of the Committee. The provisions of section 2203 of this title shall be applicable to the Committee.

(Aug. 1, 1946, ch. 724, title I, § 29, as added Pub. L. 85–256, § 5, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 579; amended Pub. L. 95–209, § 5, Dec. 13, 1977, 91 Stat. 1483; renumbered title I, Pub. L. 102–486, title IX, § 902(a)(8), Oct. 24, 1992, 106 Stat. 2944; Pub. L. 105–362, title XII, § 1201(a), Nov. 10, 1998, 112 Stat. 3292.)
Editorial Notes

1998—Pub. L. 105–362 struck out at end “In addition to its other duties under this section, the committee, making use of all available sources, shall undertake a study of reactor safety research and prepare and submit annually to the Congress a report containing the results of such study. The first such report shall be submitted to the Congress not later than December 31, 1977.”

1977—Pub. L. 95–209 inserted provisions which called for a study of reactor safety research and an annual report on results of study.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries
Termination of Advisory Committees

Advisory committees in existence on Jan. 5, 1973, to terminate not later than the expiration of the 2-year period following Jan. 5, 1973, unless, in the case of a committee established by the President or an officer of the Federal Government, such committee is renewed by appropriate action prior to the expiration of such 2-year period, or in the case of a committee established by the Congress, its duration is otherwise provided by law. See section 14 of Pub. L. 92–463, Oct. 6, 1972, 86 Stat. 776, set out in the Appendix to Title 5, Government Organization and Employees.