Berne Convention

Primary tabs

The Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works is an international agreement governing copyright, signed in Berne, Switzerland on September 9, 1886. The Berne Convention aims to help nationals of its signing countries obtain international protection of their right to control and to receive payment for the use of their creative works.

The United States became a party to the Berne Convention in 1989.