National Reporter System

Primary tabs

The National Reporter System (NRS) refers to the popular collection of reporters published by West Publishing for state and federal decisions. Reporters contain the opinions and decisions of courts within their purview. The reporters are organized by level and location of the courts. Larger reporters are separated into multiple series. The federal reporters are divided mostly by levels of the court with Supreme Court cases in the Supreme Court Reporter, Appellate Court cases in the Federal Reporter, and District Court cases in the Federal Supplement. There are a few special courts for particular topics: Federal Rules Decisions, Bankruptcy Reporter, and Federal Appendix. 

State Appellate Court decisions are organized into seven areas with multiple states in each area:

Atlantic Reporter - CT, DE, DC, ME, MD, NH, NJ, PA, RI & VT

North Eastern Reporter - IL, IN, MA, NY & OH

North Western Reporter - IA, MI, MN, NE, ND, SD & WI

South Eastern Reporter - GA, NC, SC, VA & WV

Southern Reporter - AL, FL, LA & MS 

South Western Reporter - AR, KY, MO, TN & TX

Pacific Reporter - AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, KS, MT, NV, NM, OK, OR, UT, WA & WY 

[Last updated in June of 2021 by the Wex Definitions Team]