Queen's Bench


Historically, the highest court in England during the reign of a queen (called the King's Bench during the reign of a king). The Queen's Bench is now called the Queen's Bench Division and is one of three divisions of Great Britain's High Court. The other two divisions are the Chancery Division and the Family Division. Also called Court of Queen's Bench. Abbreviated as Q.B.

Illustrative caselaw

See, e.g. Emspak v. United States, 349 U.S. 190, 205 (1955) (citing an 1861 Queen's Bench decision)

See also