20 CFR 668.200 - What are the requirements for designation as an “Indian or Native American (INA) grantee”?

prev | next
§ 668.200 What are the requirements for designation as an “Indian or Native American (INA) grantee”?

(a) To be designated as an INA grantee, an entity must have:

(1) A legal status as a government or as an agency of a government, private non-profit corporation, or a consortium which contains at least one of these entities;

(2) The ability to administer INA program funds, as defined at § 668.220; and

(3) A new (non-incumbent) entity must have a population within the designated geographic service area which would provide funding under the funding formula found at § 668.296(b) in the amount of at least $100,000, including any amounts received for supplemental youth services under the funding formula at § 668.440(a). Incumbent grantees which do not meet this dollar threshold for Program Year (PY) 2000 and beyond will be grandfathered in. We will make an exception for grantees wishing to participate in the demonstration program under Public Law 102-477 if all resources to be consolidated under the Public Law 102-477 plan total at least $100,000, with at least $20,000 derived from section 166 funds as determined by the most recent Census data. Exceptions to this $20,000 limit may be made for those entities which are close to the limit and which have demonstrated the capacity to administer Federal funds and operate a successful employment and training program.

(b) To be designated as a Native American grantee, a consortium or its members must meet the requirements of paragraph (a) of this section and must:

(1) Be in close proximity to one another, but they may operate in more than one State;

(2) Have an administrative unit legally authorized to run the program and to commit the other members to contracts, grants, and other legally-binding agreements; and

(3) Be jointly and individually responsible for the actions and obligations of the consortium, including debts.

(c) Entities potentially eligible for designation under paragraph (a)(1) or (b)(1) of this section are:

(1) Federally-recognized Indian tribes;

(2) Tribal organizations, as defined in 25 U.S.C. 450b;

(3) Alaska Native-controlled organizations representing regional or village areas, as defined in the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act;

(4) Native Hawaiian-controlled entities;

(5) Native American-controlled organizations serving Indians; and

(6) Consortia of eligible entities which individually meets the legal requirements for a consortium described in paragraph (c) of this section.

(d) Under WIA section 166(d)(2)(B), individuals who were eligible to participate under section 401 of JTPA on August 6, 1998, remain eligible to participate under section 166 of WIA. State-recognized tribal organizations serving such individuals are considered to be “Native American controlled” for WIA section 166 purposes.

This is a list of United States Code sections, Statutes at Large, Public Laws, and Presidential Documents, which provide rulemaking authority for this CFR Part.

This list is taken from the Parallel Table of Authorities and Rules provided by GPO [Government Printing Office].

It is not guaranteed to be accurate or up-to-date, though we do refresh the database weekly. More limitations on accuracy are described at the GPO site.

United States Code
Public Laws
The section you are viewing is cited by the following CFR sections.