Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 64B32-2.001 - License by Endorsement

Current through Reg. 47, No. 249; December 28, 2021

(1) Applicants for licensure as a Registered Respiratory Therapist or Certified Respiratory Therapist in the state of Florida shall apply on Form DH-MQA 1145, Application for Registered Respiratory Therapist or Certified Respiratory Therapist, Revised 07/2020, incorporated herein as this Board's application form and available on the web at http://www.flrules.org/Gateway/reference.asp?No=Ref-12222, or at http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/respiratory/index.html.
(2) Each applicant applying for licensure shall pay an application fee in the form of a check or money order payable to the Department of Health. The initial application must be accompanied by the application fee. The application fee is nonrefundable and may not be used for more than one year from the original submission of the application. After one year from the date of the original submission of an application and application fee, a new application and new fee shall be required from any applicant who desires to be considered for licensure.
(3) Every applicant for licensure as a registered respiratory therapist or certified respiratory therapist shall demonstrate the following:
(a)
1. That the applicant holds the "Registered Respiratory Therapist" or "Certified Respiratory Therapist" credential issued by the National Board for Respiratory Care, or an equivalent credential acceptable to the Board, or
2. That the applicant holds licensure, or the equivalent, to deliver respiratory care in another state and such licensure was granted pursuant to requirements determined to be equivalent to, or more stringent than, the requirements in Florida.
(b) That the applicant is not otherwise disqualified by reason of a violation of chapter 456 or 468, part V, F.S., or the rules promulgated thereunder.
(c) An applicant who has not practiced respiratory care for 2 years or more must complete a Board-approved comprehensive review course within two (2) years immediately prior to the filing of the licensure application or be recredentialed in the level in which he or she is applying to practice in order to ensure that he or she has the sufficient skills to re-enter the profession. Board-approved comprehensive course means any course or courses which includes, at a minimum, fourteen (14) hours in the topics and numbers of hours as follows:

Patient assessment

3 hours

Hemodynamics

2 hours

Pulmonary Function

1 hour

Arterial blood gases

1 hour

Respiratory equipment

2 hours

Airway Care

1 hour

Mechanical ventilation

2 hours

Emergency care/special procedures

1 hour

General respiratory care (including medication)

1 hour

Notes

Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 64B32-2.001

Rulemaking Authority 456.013, 468.353(1), 468.364 FS. Law Implemented 456.013, 456.072(1), (2), 456.0635, 468.353, 468.358, 468.364, 468.365(1), (2) FS.

New 4-29-85, Formerly 21M-34.02, 21M-34.002, 61F6-34.002, 59R-71.002, 64B8-71.002, Amended 7-22-02, 8-28-05, 6-12-07, 5-15-08, 5-25-09, 5-10-10, 10-6-10, 3-28-12, 1-16-13, Amended by Florida Register Volume 40, Number 224, November 18, 2014 effective 12-4-14, Amended by Florida Register Volume 42, Number 056, March 22, 2016 effective 4-7-16, Amended by Florida Register Volume 42, Number 193, October 4, 2016 effective 10-17-16, Amended by Florida Register Volume 44, Number 055, March 20, 2018 effective 4-3-18, Amended by Florida Register Volume 45, Number 005, January 8, 2019 effective 1-23-19, Amended by Florida Register Volume 45, Number 186, September 24, 2019 effective 10-10-19, Amended by Florida Register Volume 46, Number 200, October 13, 2020 effective 10-29-20.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.