Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 64B32-6.006 - AIDS Education and Medical Error Prevention Education

Current through Reg. 47, No. 249; December 28, 2021

(1) Each licensee must complete at least three continuing education hours of HIV/AIDS education through a Board approved course no later than upon the licensee's first biennial renewal of licensure. New licensees may complete a course no more than five (5) years preceding initial licensure date.
(2) To receive Board approval, courses on HIV/AIDS shall be at least one hour and include the following subject areas: Modes of transmission, Infection control procedures, Clinical management, Prevention, and current Florida law on AIDS and the impact on testing, confidentiality, and treatment. A home study course shall be permitted to fulfill this aspect of the HIV/AIDS education.
(3) Courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance of the Department of Health pursuant to Section 456.033, F.S., are approved by this Board.
(4) Each licensee must complete a Board approved 2-hour continuing education course relating to the prevention of medical errors no later than upon the licensee's first biennial renewal of licensure. The 2-hour course shall count toward the total number of continuing education hours required for each license renewal. The course shall include medication errors, including missed treatments, documentation errors, equipment errors, patient errors and communication errors.

Notes

Fla. Admin. Code Ann. R. 64B32-6.006

Rulemaking Authority 456.013(7), 456.033 FS. Law Implemented 456.013(7), 456.033 FS.

New 6-20-89, Amended 7-28-92, Formerly 21M-38.006, Amended 1-2-94, Formerly 61F6-38.006, 59R-75.006, 64B8-75.006, Amended 4-27-00, 7-22-02, 6-20-07, Amended by Florida Register Volume 41, Number 092, May 12, 2015 effective 5-25-15, Amended by Florida Register Volume 41, Number 170, September 1, 2015 effective 9-17-15, Amended by Florida Register Volume 42, Number 012, January 20, 2016 effective 2-4-16, Amended by Florida Register Volume 42, Number 193, October 4, 2016 effective 10-17-16.

The following state regulations pages link to this page.



State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.