Utah Admin. Code R70-201-4 - Citation

(1) The commissioner or commissioner's designee, may enforce this rule by issuing the person a citation for violation, in order to secure subsequent payment of fines or the imposition of penalties.
(2) The citation shall include :
(a) name, street address, city, state, zip-code, phone-number, and title or position of the individual being given the order, or name, street address, city, state, zip-code, phone-number of the entity, which includes business, organization, corporation, firm, or limited liability company, and the name and title or position of the individual in the entity to whom the order is given;
(b) references to the statutes or rules violated;
(c) a brief statement to the findings of fact as determined by the division;
(d) a penalty or fine amount;
(e) the signature of the division representative;
(f) a space or line for the signature of the individual, although a signature is not needed if the individual refuses to sign; and
(g) a statement explaining that a person is allowed to request an administrative hearing under Sections 4-1-104 and 63G-4-201 if the person believes that a citation was not warranted.
(3) The fine or penalty amount will be set by the department or the division, under the direction of the commissioner, for up to $5,000 per violation.
(4) If the citation involves a criminal proceeding, the individual may be found guilty of a class B misdemeanor.
(5) In accordance with Section 4-2-304, fine or penalty amounts shall be $500 to $5,000 per violation depending on the level of the violation and any adverse effect or potential adverse effect at the time of the incidents giving rise to the violation.
(a) If the citation is not paid within 15 days, the penalty or fine shall be two times the citation amount.
(b) If the citation is not paid within 30 days, the penalty or fine shall be four times the citation amount.
(c) The total penalty or fine per violation shall not exceed $5,000.

Notes

Utah Admin. Code R70-201-4
Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2020-21, effective 10/14/2020 Amended by Utah State Bulletin Number 2022-16, effective 8/1/2022

State regulations are updated quarterly; we currently have two versions available. Below is a comparison between our most recent version and the prior quarterly release. More comparison features will be added as we have more versions to compare.