Quick search by citation:

16 U.S. Code § 4721 - Establishment of Task Force

prev | next
(a) Task Force

There is hereby established an “Aquatic Nuisance Species Task Force”.

(b) MembershipMembership of the Task Force shall consist of—
the Director;
the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency;
the Commandant of the United States Coast Guard;
the Secretary of Agriculture;
the Director of the National Park Service;
the Director of the Bureau of Land Management;
the Commissioner of Reclamation; and
the head of any other Federal agency that the chairpersons designated under subsection (d) deem appropriate.
(c) Ex officio members

The chairpersons designated under subsection (d) shall invite representatives of the Great Lakes Commission, the Patrick Leahy Lake Champlain Basin Program, the Chesapeake Bay Program, the San Francisco Bay-Delta Estuary Program, and State agencies and other governmental entities to participate as ex officio members of the Task Force.

(d) Chairpersons

The Director and the Under Secretary shall serve as co-chairpersons of the Task Force and shall be jointly responsible, and are authorized to undertake such activities as may be necessary, for carrying out this subchapter in consultation and cooperation with the other members of the Task Force.

(e) Memorandum of understanding

Within six months of November 29, 1990, the Director and the Under Secretary shall develop a memorandum of understanding that describes the role of each in jointly carrying out this subchapter.

(f) Coordination

Each Task Force member shall coordinate any action to carry out this subchapter with any such action by other members of the Task Force, and regional, State and local entities.

(g) Observers

The chairpersons designated under subsection (d) may invite representatives of nongovernmental entities to participate as observers of the Task Force.

Editorial Notes
References in Text

This subchapter, referred to in subsecs. (d) to (f), was in the original “this subtitle”, meaning subtitle C (§§ 1201–1209) of title I of Pub. L. 101–646, Nov. 29, 1990, 104 Stat. 4765, which enacted this subchapter and amended section 42 of Title 18, Crimes and Criminal Procedure.


2022—Subsec. (b)(7) to (10). Pub. L. 117–263, § 11327(c), added pars. (7) to (9) and redesignated former par. (7) as (10).

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 117–328 inserted “Patrick Leahy” before “Lake Champlain Basin Program”.

Subsec. (g). Pub. L. 117–263, § 11327(b), added subsec. (g).

1996—Pub. L. 104–332, § 2(h)(1), made technical amendment to Pub. L. 101–646, § 1201, which enacted this section.

Subsec. (b)(5) to (7). Pub. L. 104–332, § 2(e)(2)(A), struck out “and” at end of par. (5), added par. (6), and redesignated former par. (6) as (7).

Subsec. (c). Pub. L. 104–332, § 2(e)(2)(B), inserted “the Chesapeake Bay Program, the San Francisco Bay-Delta Estuary Program,” before “and State agencies”.

Pub. L. 104–182 inserted “, the Lake Champlain Basin Program,” after “Great Lakes Commission”.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries
Transfer of Functions

For transfer of authorities, functions, personnel, and assets of the Coast Guard, including the authorities and functions of the Secretary of Transportation relating thereto, to the Department of Homeland Security, and for treatment of related references, see sections 468(b), 551(d), 552(d), and 557 of Title 6, Domestic Security, and the Department of Homeland Security Reorganization Plan of November 25, 2002, as modified, set out as a note under section 542 of Title 6.