28 U.S. Code § 96 - Kansas

Kansas constitutes one judicial district.
Court shall be held at Kansas City, Lawrence, Leavenworth, Salina, Topeka, Hutchinson, Wichita, Dodge City, and Fort Scott.


(June 25, 1948, ch. 646, 62 Stat. 880; Aug. 27, 1949, ch. 516, 63 Stat. 666; Pub. L. 99–554, title I, § 141,Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3096.)
Historical and Revision Notes

Based on title 28, U.S.C., 1940 ed., § 157 (Mar. 3, 1911, ch. 231, § 82,36 Stat. 1112; Sept. 6, 1916, ch. 447, 39 Stat. 725; June 7, 1924, ch. 319, 43 Stat. 607; June 13, 1938, ch. 349, 52 Stat. 673).
Provisions as to the appointment and residence of deputy marshals and deputy clerks and maintenance of offices by them were omitted. See sections 541 [see 561], 542 [see 561], and 751 of this title.
A provision making inoperative the terms of the last paragraph of this section, whenever, upon the recommendation of the Attorney General, court accommodations should be provided in Federal buildings, was omitted as unnecessary. When such buildings become available the Director of the Administrative Office of the United States Courts will, under section 604 of this title, provide court accommodations therein.
The provision respecting court accommodations at Hutchinson was omitted as covered by section 142 of this title.
Changes in arrangement and phraseology were made.

1986—Pub. L. 99–554provided for holding court at Lawrence.
1949—Act Aug. 27, 1949, abolished the three divisions which constituted the judicial district, and added Dodge City as an additional place for holding court.
Effective Date of 1986 Amendment

Amendment by Pub. L. 99–554effective 30 days after Oct. 27, 1986, see section 302(a) ofPub. L. 99–554, set out as a note under section 581 of this title.


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.