Quick search by citation:

4 U.S. Code § 42 - Same; custody and use of

prev | next

The Secretary of State shall have the custody and charge of such seal. Except as provided by section 2902(a) of title 5, the seal shall not be affixed to any instrument without the special warrant of the President therefor.

(July 30, 1947, ch. 389, 61 Stat. 643; Pub. L. 89–554, § 2(a), Sept. 6, 1966, 80 Stat. 608.)
Editorial Notes

1966—Pub. L. 89–554 struck out provisions which required the Secretary of State to make out and record, and to affix the seal to, all civil commissions for officers of the United States appointed by the President. See section 2902(a) of Title 5, Government Organization and Employees.

Executive Documents
Ex. Ord. No. 10347. Affixing of Seal Without Special Warrant

Ex. Ord. No. 10347, Apr. 18, 1952, 17 F.R. 3521, as amended by Ex. Ord. No. 11354, May 23, 1967, 32 F.R. 7695; Ex. Ord. No. 11517, Mar. 19, 1970, 35 F.R. 4937, provided:

By virtue of the authority vested in me by section 301 of title 3 of the United States Code (section 10, Public Law 248, approved October 31, 1951, 65 Stat. 713), and as President of the United States, I hereby authorize and direct the Secretary of State to affix the Seal of the United States, pursuant to section 42 of title 4 of the United States Code [this section], without any special warrant therefor, other than this order, to each document included within any of the following classes of documents when such document has been signed by the President and, in the case of any such document to which the counter-signature of the Secretary of State is required to be affixed, has been counter-signed by the said Secretary:

1. Proclamations by the President of treaties, conventions, protocols, or other international agreements.

2. Instruments of ratification of treaties.

3. Full powers to negotiate treaties and to exchange ratifications.

4. Letters of credence and recall and other communications from the President to heads of foreign governments.

5. Exequaturs issued to those foreign consular officers in the United States whose commissions bear the signature of the chief of state which they represent.