42 U.S. Code § 5204. Insular areas disaster survival and recovery; definitions

As used in sections 5204 to 5204c of this title—
the term “insular area means any of the following: American Samoa, the Federated States of Micronesia, Guam, the Marshall Islands, the Northern Mariana Islands, the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, and the Virgin Islands;
the term “disaster means a declaration of a major disaster by the President after September 1, 1989, pursuant to section 5170 of this title; and
the term “Secretary means the Secretary of the Interior.
References in Text

Sections 5204 to 5204c of this title, referred to in text, was in the original “this title”, meaning title II of Pub. L. 102–247, Feb. 24, 1992, 106 Stat. 37, which enacted sections 5204 to 5204c of this title and amended section 5122 of this title.


Section was enacted as part of the Omnibus Insular Areas Act of 1992, and not as part of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act which comprises this chapter.

Termination of Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands

For termination of TrustTerritory of the Pacific Islands, see note set out preceding section 1681 of Title 48, Territories and Insular Possessions.