Quick search by citation:

50 U.S. Code § 1 - Creation, purpose, and composition of council

prev | next

A Council of National Defense is established, for the coordination of industries and resources for the national security and welfare, to consist of the Secretary of the Army, the Secretary of the Navy, the Secretary of the Interior, the Secretary of Agriculture, the Secretary of Commerce, and the Secretary of Labor.

(Aug. 29, 1916, ch. 418, § 2, 39 Stat. 649; July 26, 1947, ch. 343, title II, § 205(a), 61 Stat. 501.)
Editorial Notes

Sections 1 to 5 of this title are from section 2 of act Aug. 29, 1916, popularly known as the Army Appropriation Act for the fiscal year 1916.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries
Change of Name

Department of War designated Department of the Army and title of Secretary of War changed to Secretary of the Army by section 205(a) of act July 26, 1947, ch. 343, title II, 61 Stat. 501. Section 205(a) of act July 26, 1947, was repealed by section 53 of act Aug. 10, 1956, ch. 1041, 70A Stat. 641. Section 1 of act Aug. 10, 1956, enacted “Title 10, Armed Forces” which in sections 3010 to 3013 continued Department of the Army under administrative supervision of Secretary of the Army.

Executive Documents
Transfer of Functions

For transfer of certain membership functions, insofar as they pertain to Air Force, which functions were not previously transferred from Secretary of the Army and Department of the Army to Secretary of the Air Force and Department of the Air Force, see Secretary of Defense Transfer Order No. 40 [App. C(11)], July 22, 1949.