Internal Revenue Code

Primary tabs

Federal statutes pertaining to taxes that are imposed by the federal government are compiled into Title 26 of the United States Code. This title is commonly referred to as the “Internal Revenue Code” or, often by tax practitioners, as the “Code”.

The Code consists of 11 subtitles that address both substantive and procedural aspects of federal tax law. The largest subtitle of the Code is Subtitle A, which provides rules for the imposition and calculation of the federal income taxes (one of several levels of income taxes that are imposed in the United States by the federal government and by state and local governments). Other significant subtitles are Subtitle B, which governs the federal estate and gift taxes; Subtitle C, which governs the federal employment taxes and mechanics for the collection of the federal income taxes; Subtitle D, which governs the federal excise taxes; and Subtitle F, which governs the procedures and administration of the federal taxes.