Uniform Probate Code

Primary tabs

The Uniform Probate Code has been adopted, at least in part, by 18 states.

Locators are also available for the Uniform Commercial Code, Uniform Code of Evidence, and uniform laws in the areas of: matrimonial and family law and business and finance. If you are unclear about what Uniform Laws are see the LII "Uniform Laws" page.

The National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws

A Typical State (Montana Code Annotated ยงยง 72-1-101 to 72-6-311)

  • Article I - General Provisions, Definitions and Probate Jurisdiction of Court
  • Article II - Intestate Succession and Wills
  • Article III - Probate of Wills and Administration
  • Article IV - Foreign Personal Representatives; Ancillary Administration
  • Article V - Protection of Persons Under Disability and Their Property
  • Article VI - Non-Probate Transfers
  • Article VIII - Effective Date and Repealer

The following states have adopted the Uniform Probate Code in its entirety (in some cases with significant modifications)

State Codes

The Uniform Law Commission has published a state-by-state locator for the Uniform Probate Code.