10 U.S. Code § 5061 - Department of the Navy: composition

prev | next
§ 5061.
Department of the Navy: composition
The Department of the Navy is composed of the following:
The Office of the Secretary of the Navy.
The Office of the Chief of Naval Operations.
The Headquarters, Marine Corps.
The entire operating forces, including naval aviation, of the Navy and of the Marine Corps, and the reserve components of those operating forces.
All field activities, headquarters, forces, bases, installations, activities, and functions under the control or supervision of the Secretary of the Navy.
The Coast Guard when it is operating as a service in the Navy.
(Added Pub. L. 99–433, title V, § 511(b)(1), Oct. 1, 1986, 100 Stat. 1043.)
Prior Provisions

Provisions similar to those in this section were contained in section 5011 of this title prior to enactment of Pub. L. 99–433.

A prior section 5061, act Aug. 10, 1956, ch. 1041, 70A Stat. 280, related to appointment and functions of Comptroller of the Navy, prior to repeal by Pub. L. 99–433, § 511(a).

Transfer of Functions

For transfer of authorities, functions, personnel, and assets of the Coast Guard, including the authorities and functions of the Secretary of Transportation relating thereto, to the Department of Homeland Security, and for treatment of related references, see sections 468(b), 551(d), 552(d), and 557 of Title 6, Domestic Security, and the Department of Homeland Security Reorganization Plan of November 25, 2002, as modified, set out as a note under section 542 of Title 6.


LII has no control over and does not endorse any external Internet site that contains links to or references LII.