Quick search by citation:

10 U.S. Code § 8061 - Department of the Navy: composition

prev | next
The Department of the Navy is composed of the following:
The Office of the Secretary of the Navy.
The Office of the Chief of Naval Operations.
The Headquarters, Marine Corps.
The entire operating forces, including naval aviation, of the Navy and of the Marine Corps, and the reserve components of those operating forces.
All field activities, headquarters, forces, bases, installations, activities, and functions under the control or supervision of the Secretary of the Navy.
The Coast Guard when it is operating as a service in the Navy.
Editorial Notes
Prior Provisions

Provisions similar to those in this section were contained in section 5011 of this title prior to enactment of Pub. L. 99–433.

A prior section 8061 was renumbered section 9061 of this title.


2018—Pub. L. 115–232 renumbered section 5061 of this title as this section.

Statutory Notes and Related Subsidiaries
Effective Date of 2018 Amendment

Amendment by Pub. L. 115–232 effective Feb. 1, 2019, with provision for the coordination of amendments and special rule for certain redesignations, see section 800 of Pub. L. 115–232, set out as a note preceding section 3001 of this title.

Transfer of Functions

For transfer of authorities, functions, personnel, and assets of the Coast Guard, including the authorities and functions of the Secretary of Transportation relating thereto, to the Department of Homeland Security, and for treatment of related references, see sections 468(b), 551(d), 552(d), and 557 of Title 6, Domestic Security, and the Department of Homeland Security Reorganization Plan of November 25, 2002, as modified, set out as a note under section 542 of Title 6.