Code of Professional Responsibility

Definition from Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary

A set of rules governing the ethical conduct of attorneys in the practice of the law. It covers such topics as conflicts of interest, honesty with clients, confidentiality, and conduct toward other attorneys and the courts. First developed and pushed by the American Bar Association (ABA), the code has been replaced in most states by the Model Rules of Professional Conduct.

Definition provided by Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary.