Commerce Control List

Primary tabs

In the interest of U.S. national security, the Department of Commerce's Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) is responsible for implementing and enforcing the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), which regulate the export and re-export of many commercial items that also have a military or proliferation application.  BIS maintains the Commerce Control List (CCL), which is found in Supplement 1 to Part 774 of the EAR.  The list contains all of the items subject to the export licensing authority of BIS.  The items listed on the CCL are referred to as "dual-use" items because they have both commercial and military or proliferation applications. The CCL is divided into 10 categories, numbered as follows:

0. Nuclear Materials, Facilities and Equipment and Miscellaneous

1. Materials, Chemicals, “Microorganisms,” and Toxins

2. Materials Processing

3. Electronics

4. Computers

5. Telecommunications and Information Security

6. Lasers and Sensors

7. Navigation and Avionics

8. Marine

9. Propulsion Systems, Space Vehicles and Related Equipment

Companies or individuals that wish to export items on the CCL may be required to obtain an export license depending on the item being exported and the country to which the item is being exported.

[Last updated in October of 2022 by the Wex Definitions Team]