Export Control Classification Number (ECCN)

Primary tabs

Export Control Classification Number (ECCN) is an alphanumeric code used by the Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS) to determine whether goods set for export outside of the United States fall under the Export Administration Regulations (EAR). The ECCN helps both the BIS and companies determine whether exports need a license and to what extent the products can be exported at all. The Commerce Control List (CCL) contains the instructions for determining ECCN numbers. 

An ECCN contains a number for the category of the item, followed by a letter indicating the group, and finally three letters that indicate the purpose for regulating the item such as 4A001. The ECCN number along with the country chart allows someone to determine whether the exports require a license based upon the type, use, and receiving party of the goods. If an export does not fall under the CCL, it will be given the code EAR99. Typically, EAR99 codes mean no license will be needed unless the product will be going to a specially regulated entity or use. If an entity has difficulty finding the correct ECCN of an export, they can submit a Commodity Classification Request for the BIS to help determine the ECCN.

The ten categories of the ECCN are: 

0. Nuclear Materials, Facilities and Equipment and Miscellaneous;

1. Materials, Chemicals, “Microorganisms,” and Toxins

2. Materials Processing

3. Electronics

4. Computers

5. Telecommunications and Information Security

6. Lasers and Sensors

7. Navigation and Avionics

8. Marine

9. Propulsion Systems, Space Vehicles and Related Equipment

The five categories of the ECCN are:

A. Equipment, Assemblies and Components

B. Test, Inspection and Production Equipment

C. Materials

D. Software

E. Technology

To see the entire CCL and parts to the ECCN, please see the Bureau of Industry and Security website.

[Last updated in October of 2022 by the Wex Definitions Team